Faculty and staff recognized for service, research and outreach at Convocation
News and Headlines

Faculty and staff recognized for service, research and outreach at Convocation

At the 2013 Chancellor's Convocation on Sept. 6, several faculty members and one staffer were recognized for their outstanding service to Auburn Montgomery and the surrounding community. Congratulations, and thank you for all you do for AUM!

Dr. Eric Sterling, left, receives the 2013 Alumni Professorship Award from Harry Abrams, President of the Auburn Montgomery Alumni Association. To be eligible for this honor, faculty must have 10 or more years of full-time service at AUM. The award recognizes teaching excellence as well as a strong record of publication and research.
Dr. Eric Sterling receives 2013 AUM Alumni Association Faculty Service Award from Alumni Association President Harry Abrams.
DR. Katherine Jackson presents Dr. Gilbert Duenas with an AUM Outreach Grant for a community program.
Dr. Gilbert Duenas, right, receives an Outreach Grant from Dr. Katherine Jackson for Reading Initiative, a community outreach after-school project that reaches out to Latino parents, provides information to them in their own language, values their culture and values, and offers their children culturally-relevant mathematics and literacy-oriented activities. In partnership with Brewbaker Primary and Intermediate schools, more than 1,200 students will be provided with literacy and math tutoring, as well as English language instruction for parents.
The Nonprofit Leadership Program, under the direction of Tink Lucy-Bouler, was awarded and Outreach Grant to help support two community outreach programs. The Christmas program, held each year on the AUM campus, brings low-income children and AUM students together to interact by creating arts and crafts projects, presenting gifts to the children, and enjoying a festive dinner. The Easter event provides children and AUM students with an opportunity to interact during games and an Easter egg hunt.
Tink Lucy-Bouler
Dr. Wyatt Wells
Dr. Wyatt Wells was awarded an Outreach Grant for Alabama History Day. This great program brings junior-high and high school students to the AUM campus so that they can present projects based on their research. Students whose research is judged the best are provided an opportunity to present their research at National History Day in Washington D.C. Students from all over the state come to AUM, where they take a tour of campus, receive AUM literature, and meet with faculty. The event is not only a great opportunity for the students, but also provides a venue for promoting the Auburn Montgomery campus.
Dr. Lee Farrow, left, receives the 2013 Faculty Excellence in Outreach Award from Dr. Katherine Jackson. In the community, Farrow has been a part of a local school program called "Read Across America," coordinated student service opportunities at local elementary schools, served as a member of Montgomery Public Schools’ committees and PTA, securing thousands of dollars in grant awards for an elementary school, judged numerous events designed to engage and teach children social studies and Alabama history, led the Deck the Halls with Books on History program, which provided 1,200 books to local elementary schools – a program funded primarily by Farrow’s efforts to collect and recycle ink cartridges, hosted a film and lecture series open to the public, and presented, through Scholars Without Walls, many lectures on numerous topics, including plagiarism. She is a former recipient of an Outreach Grant Award.
Dr. Lee Farrow accepts AUM Excellence in Faculty Outreach Award from Dr. Katherine Jackson
Johnita Strong accepts 2013 AUM Staff Service Award from Staff Council President Daryl Morris
Johnita Lynne Strong, left, was awarded the 2013 Staff Service Award from Daryl Morris, president of the Staff Council. The award honors staffers who have demonstrated superior work performance contributing to the achievement of departmental and university goals, contributed to university and staff council events, and improved general morale and public relations.
The 2013-15 Ida Belle Young Endowed Professorship was awarded to Dr. Ben Okeke. Okeke is a prolific researcher whose research covers several broad areas at the forefront of microbiology, including bioconversion of inedible plant waste to fuel ethanol, microbial bioremediation of recalcitrant and toxic molecules, development of biosensors for real-time detection of toxic chemical pollutants in water, bacteriological examination of drinking water sources, and DNA-based identification of environmentally important microorganisms.
Dr. Ben Okeke holds his certificate recognizing him as 2013-15 AUM Ida Belle Young Endowed Professorship winner.
Dr. Lee Farrow receives the AUM Champion of Student Success Award from Provost Joe King.
Dr. Lee Farrow, left, receives the first Champions of Student Success Award from Dr. Joe King. This award is presented to a faculty member who has been exemplary in his or her teaching and support of students and AUM’s retention initiatives. Farrow has been equally involved in and out of the classroom with her students. In addition to her role as the faculty advisor with the College Bowl team, she is also a faithful participant in Professors 'n Pajamas. This year, she has been instrumental in the implementation of UNIV 1000 as well as Connected, AUM's Common Reading Program.

Sept. 9, 2013


AUM logo